First Rolling Tre Flip and First backside tailslide

image

Small but mighty. Did my first adult backside tailslide here tonight.

Duration: 1.25 hours
Location: Rite aid parking lot, Franklin and Western, Los Feliz, Los Angeles. And across the street.

Drills
Backside Popshovits
5
Frontside Popshovits
5
Backside 180 Ollies
10
Fakie Ollies
5
Backside Half-cabs
5
Kickflips
25
Backside Varial Flips
5

New Trick Practice

Heelflips
25 attempts, 1 make. Make rate: 4%

Tre Flips
25 attempts. 1 make. First Rolling make ever! Make rate: 4%

On the way home I stopped and did my first backside tailslide since I was a kid. It was awesome. Felt it was time to try since my backside 180s have been tight.

image

Shady lot today.

Observations
1. Half way through practice I thought of calling this post, “the worst practice ever.” Felt heavy-footed, and took way more hard slams than ever. Ollie thuds. Kickflips were as though I was just learning for the first time. Good news is that’s because I’ve been making adjustments to eventually be consistently better.

2. Got my feet on about 5 of those tre flip attempts before I fell. Getting the spin consistently, that’s the hardest part. The flip need work.
The rolling tre I landed wasn’t the cleanest, but it was nonetheless an accomplished.
Funny how it came only moments after the most I’ve ever wanted to throw my board (Kickflip frustrations).

3. I slammed on the pavement more in this practice than the last month combined. Pissed at myself for not learning by now how to fall better, without using my hands.
Problem is, I’m a lot heavier and taller than I was as a kid. Further to fall, harder, and with more time to react wrongly and defensively. These are just some of the problems facing this adult relearning how to skateboard.

Leave a comment